Home Contact Us

ESC of the Western Reserve News Article


Now, a moment to thank those who truly made this event possible ….

Thank you to our leadership team, Dr. John Tedesco and Dr. Jennifer Swartz-Levine, Lake Erie College, and Dr. Vanessa Karwan and Glenn Bailey, Jr., ESC of the Western Reserve, for the many hours put into driving this event forward through to completion and for being tireless advocates for STEAM teaching and learning

The sponsors who provided critical support that guaranteed the success of the event overall - Bala and Kevin from ISSquared, Inc., our presenting sponsor, Jonathan and the whole community affairs team at Medical Mutual of Ohio, Scott and the Wright Brothers Institute for STEAM resources for classrooms, Tony and the Partners in Science Excellence teamand Teresa and Alliance for Working Together (AWT) for subsidizing transportation.

Our amazing partners and presenters from Lake Erie College (Dr. Deborah Schulman, Dr. Richard West, Grace Summanen, Anthony Ezzo, Megan Acord), Fine Arts Association (Paul Holm, Melissa Sextella, Beth Price, and Ann Marie Raddell), HIVE at Lakeland (Sam Skidmore and Karli Smith), Center for Arts-Inspired Learning (Christine Madden), and ESC of the Western Reserve (Frank Carraher).

Thank you to our STEAM panelists Dr. Rebecca Kohnz, Larry Advey, Beth Halasz, Denise Vermilya and our moderator Miguel Solivan! Each offered their unique perspectives on their career paths, tips on building and maintaining a STEAM mindset, and their connections to Northeast Ohio and the case for giving back to schools and our community. 

Thank you Catherine Beisel from Lake Erie College for all the facilities and hospitality support and to LACA President and Riverside Counselor Scott Bailis for helping get the word out about the event to our local area couselor’s network. 

Thank you to the LEC Admission team Ashley Mayse, Alyssa Mcintyre, and Daniel Cohen for taking time to present about the LEC experience and admission process.

Thank you to district and campus administration from Fairport, Madison, Painesville, Perry, Riverside, Willoughby-Eastlake, Cardinal, Berkshire, Kirtland, West Geauga, and iSTEM for carving out time for your students and staff to attend. This event was truly for you and your staff and we hope you left inspired to return to campus and go full STEAM ahead!

Thank you to ESCWR and SST4 staff for helping guide the event through to the departure of the last bus: Alison, Mary, Jake, Liesl, Krista, Tricia, Kristin, Rachel, Brittany, Amy, and Darlene!

Thank you to our amazing volunteers who took time out of their busy schedules to help at the event - Aaron, Daniel, and Tia, and to Dr. Kohnz and Larry Advey for the additional time spent with students at the event and in the schools while in town.

Thank you to ESCWR leadership, Superintendent Jennifer Felker, Assistant Superintendent Nancy Santilli, and Dan Wilson, Business Development, and LEC leadership, President Brian Posler and Vice President of Advancement Jennifer Schuller, for time, energy, and resources to pull off this wonderful collaboration. 

Huge shout out to the Steering Committee for the hours of preparation, meetings and going the distance to get this off the ground:

Steering Committee Members

Dr. Vanessa Karwan

Dr. Johnathan Tedesco

Dr. Jennifer Swartz-Levine

Jennifer Schuller

Paul Holm

Dr. Beth Walsh-Moorman

Dan Wilson

Frank Carraher

Shannon Ranta

Dr. Kelly Moran

Rachel Siegal

Leah Konopka

Glenn Bailey, Jr.

Cheers to another successful year and the possibility of future NEOSTEAM events!


Glenn Bailey, Jr.

STEAM Specialist

419.494.6364 (m)

[email protected]

ESC of the Western Reserve

Print This Article